Thursday, January 17, 2013

10 Knowledge Areas

Note: This article is based on PMBOK Guide Fifth Edition

This is my first post based on the latest edition of the PMBOK Guide. I managed to get a soft copy of the Fifth Edition as part of the PMI member benefits. If you are still preparing for the PMP exam based on PMBOK Guide Fourth Edition, then this article may not be applicable to you; there are only 9 knowledge areas in PMBOK Guide Fourth Edition.

The 47 project management processes identified in PMBOK Guide Fifth Edition are grouped into 10 knowledge areas. A knowledge area basically refers to an area of specialization like Time management or Cost management. The knowledge area includes a set of concepts, key words and activities specific to that particular field of project management.

You may also be interested in:

10 Knowledge Areas

The 10 knowledge areas that are used on most projects most of the time are listed below:
  1. Project Integration Management
  2. Project Scope Management
  3. Project Time Management
  4. Project Cost Management
  5. Project Quality Management
  6. Project Human Resource Management
  7. Project Communications Management
  8. Project Risk Management
  9. Project Procurement Management
  10. Project Stakeholder Management
As you can see, the last knowledge area "Project Stakeholder Management" is the latest knowledge area to be included in PMBOK Guide Fifth Edition.


  1. lneed to continue with my course of project management

  2. Could you let me know what are the processes related to Project Stakeholder Management knowledge area? and what in which of the 5 PM processes they fall into? (e.g. initiation, planning, etc.) thanks

    1. Project Stakeholder Management knowledge area has the following 4 processes:
      1. Identify Stakeholders (Initiating Process Group)
      2. Plan Stakeholder Management (Planning Process Group)
      3. Manage Stakeholder Engagement (ExecutingProcess Group)
      4. Control Stakeholder Engagement (Monitoring & Controlling Process Group)

      For further details, please refer to PMBOK Guide - Fifth Edition

    2. From experience, it should be from Initiating as this involves contracts where we can revert back for scoping.

  3. Thanks for sharing the last one knowledge area. I was totally confused while writing my last blog about the 9 or 10 knowledge area. after seeing this article only. It was clear that from PMBOK 5. it changed.

  4. Can you let me know how the 10 knowledge areas relate to the 5 process groups

    1. The 10 knowledge areas represent a framework to group the 47 project management processes by the area of specialization. The process groups represent a framework to group the processes by the phase in which it is carried out. For example, planning processes are grouped under planning process group. So, knowledge areas and process groups do not have any relation as such. They only provide a framework to represent and manage the processes effectively.